Abbé Patrick Muller

Abbé Patrick Muller 1

What does the Schoueberfouer personally represent to you?

It’s definitely the biggest event of the year in Luxembourg! A time filled with much joy and moreover a time to meet friends.

How long have you been working at the Schueberfouer and what is your role exactly?

I am pastor of Schouberfouer since 11 years, in addition to taking care of the glacis chapel. There, I receive and welcome the visitors. As a pastor of the fairground, I conduct religious services. On the last Friday of the funfair for example, a thanksgiving service is held with the fairground artists and vendors. I always have an open ear to the artists and vendors as well as every visitor. The chapel is open until 22h, every Saturday, known as our “Open Chapel” campaign. By the way, the pastor position exists at the Fouer since the 70s. At that time, the church organized a child daycare during the funfair in collaboration with the residents of the district of Limpertsberg. Today, the city and Ministry take care of this.

What is the biggest challenge in your line of work?

Well, you’re constantly on call and have to be there for everyone. Sometimes problems can rises between the artists or vendors and tones can get tense. In my presence they are usually calm and quiet. In addition, sometimes it’s probably only during the Fouer that many people are in contact with the Church. This is certainly a challenge.

Were there any particularly striking or unusual experiences over the years?

In 2009, we were able to buy a stained glass window for the Glacis chapel together with the fairground artist and vendors. This shows that the church also has a voice, which of course made me very happy. The official Fouer-tour every year is always exciting for me … but somehow a mixture of fear and fun, so for the one or the other ride you have to overcome your fear.

In your opinion, what does a perfect day at the Schouberfouer look like?

It starts with good weather: 20 to 25 degrees and sunshine. I prefer to start the Schueberfouer tour a concession stand, with a Fouer aperitif so to speak. Then strolling with friends through the funfair and not skipping the Ferris wheel. This is for me the “greatest”, in the truest sense of the word! Also, a really perfect day is if at the end of the day there are no accidents to report!

The Schouberfouer described in one sentence…

Perfect opportunity to meet friends and deepen friendships!

Visit the Grand Duchy!

Abbé Patrick Muller

Abbé Patrick Muller 1

Was bedeutet die Schueberfouer für Sie persönlich?

Sie ist definitiv das größte Ereignis des Jahres in Luxemburg! Eine Zeit mit viel Freude und besonders auch eine Zeit, Freunde zu treffen.

Wie lange arbeiten Sie schon auf der Schueberfouer und was ist genau Ihre Aufgabe?

Ich bin nun seit 11 Jahren Seelsorger der Schobermesse und zusätzlich für die Kapelle auf dem Glacis zuständig. Da versuche ich, die Menschen gut zu empfangen. Als Pfarrer der Schausteller feiere ich z.B. am letzten Freitag der Kirmes einen Dankgottesdienst mit den Schaustellern. Für die habe ich immer ein offenes Ohr, aber natürlich auch für jeden Besucher. Immer samstags ist die Kapelle bis 22 Uhr geöffnet: Aktion „Offene Kapelle“ heißt das. Übrigens gibt es die „Stelle“ des Seelsorgers auf der Fouer seit den 70er Jahren. Damals hat die Kirche zusammen mit Bewohnern des Limpertsberg die Kinderbetreuung während der Kirmes übernommen. Heute kümmern sich Stadt und Ministerium darum.

Was ist die größte Herausforderung in Ihrem Arbeitsbereich?

Man muss für alle gleichzeitig da sein bzw. für jeden da sein. Wenn es Probleme gibt, kann der Ton unter Schaustellern schon mal rauer sein. In meiner Gegenwart werden sie dann in der Regel ruhiger. Außerdem kommen viele Leute wohl nur während der Fouer mit der Kirche in Kontakt. Das ist mit Sicherheit auch eine Herausforderung.

Gab es besonders schöne oder auch kuriose Erlebnisse in den vielen Jahren?

Im Jahr 2009 konnten wir gemeinsam mit den Schaustellern ein Kirchenfenster für die Glacis-Kapelle kaufen. Das zeigt, dass denen wirklich etwas an der Kirche liegt, und hat mich natürlich sehr gefreut. Der offizielle Fouer-Rundgang ist jedes Jahr aufs Neue spannend… für mich aber irgendwie eine Mischung aus Angst und Spaß, denn für das eine oder andere Karussell muss man sich ja schon überwinden.

Wie sieht Ihrer Meinung nach der perfekte Tag auf der Schueberfouer aus?

Der fängt mit gutem Wetter an: 20 bis 25 Grad und Sonnenschein. Die Schueberfouer starte ich am liebsten an einem Getränkestand – also sozusagen mit einem Fouer-Aperitif. Dann mit Freunden über die Kirmes schlendern und auf keinen Fall das Riesenrad auslassen. Das ist nämlich für mich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „das Größte“! Und wenn es am Ende dann noch ein unfallfreier Tag war, dann war es wirklich perfekt!

Die Schueberfouer in einem Satz…

Perfekte Möglichkeit, Freunden zu begegnen und Freundschaften zu vertiefen!




Besuchen Sie das Großherzogtum!